Reviewed: Totlandia (The Onesies, Book 1-4) by Josie Brown

totlandia-the-onesies-book-1-websiteReview by Lynn Reynolds

This is one of those series that you can buy each book separately or read all four books that are available in this one volume. This is not a series that can be read out of order – each book follows the seasons so that makes it easy for you.

Book I: Fall

Lorna Connaught and her husband Matthew have a son named Dante. This story opens where Lorna is in the park with her son and this is one instance where I’m glad that my e-reader doesn’t come with smell-a-vision. They are one of our main couples. And one thing I loved was that they seem to be a very loving couple. That’s not to say that they don’t have their ups and downs.

Brady Pierce is another character that I found interesting. He’s a dad but his past time keeps him happy – sorta. And he’s also a jerk. You will find out early on how all the characters are connected. Our author shows her reader that status means everything – even for a baby. She also shows what it takes to make sure your child gets the best start in life.

Just because you may live in the most affluent part of town doesn’t mean that life isn’t hard. Situations, feelings, and problems don’t discriminate. But Josie puts a humorous twist to it all. At times, I felt like I was reading a comedy version of “The Stepford Wives”.

At the same time, you have to feel sorry for all these people that spend their time, money, and energy on what they think is best for their children. It makes me glad that I didn’t grow up with a lot of money and went to public school. And yet I still saw those people that thought they were better than others.

The woman you love to hate, Bettina, is the woman who runs the children’s group that everyone is so eager to be a part of. One thing that makes this series a page-turner is that you want to see if she gets her just desserts. You can almost picture how she treats those around her.

Totlandia: The Onesies, Book 1 (Fall)

Book II: Winter

This continues book one and shows how friendships have formed among the women who might not normally meet each other if not for the group. Drama doesn’t stop just because it’s the holidays. I also see how dull my holiday parties are compared to the one in this book.

This series is just like a soap opera – it hooks you into the story and you have your favorites that you just want to keep following. And just like soap, not all women are sweet and nice. Some are nasty and schemers.

Buy: Totlandia: The Onesies, Book 2 (Winter)

Book III: Spring

This book has me wondering if there are real people out there that act like Josie’s characters. She just makes them so believable. It made me wonder the amount of work involved to get all the characters developed as well as all the group scenes with the children. In this book of the series, our author starts to uncover a lot of the dirt that everyone is hiding – just like any good soap. The only difference, this would be a nightly soap. I don’t think the censors would let this be on during the daytime. The only disappointment I had was that I knew there was only one more book to read in this volume.

Buy: Totlandia: The Onesies, Book 3 (Spring)

Book IV: Summer

This starts off with Bettina and those close to her still being their nasty selves. If you ever wondered what happened to those girl bullies from high school – they don’t change. I found out early on that this is a guilty pleasure. I couldn’t stop reading because I wanted to know what everyone is going to do next.

I was glad to see that one of our characters didn’t have the mother-in-law from hell. I don’t know if that would have made a difference on how I felt about the series – can’t have too many bitches. One thing I also loved about this series was that the children also had their own personalities.

Now the choice is up to you. You can either purchase each book separately: Fall came out on November 09, 2012 and Winter came out on November 19, 2012. The third book, Spring, came out on January 31, 2013 and number four came out on December 05, 2013. Or you can purchase the series as a volume. And if you liked this series as much as I did you may want to check out some of the author’s other work.

Buy: Totlandia: The Onesies, Book 4 (Summer)

Rating: ★★★★★

Buy: Totlandia: The Onesies, Book 1 (Fall), Totlandia: The Onesies, Book 2 (Winter),Totlandia: The Onesies, Book 3 (Spring), Totlandia: The Onesies, Book 4 (Summer)

Tags: , ,